top of page

Marmy Grubu

Herkese Açık·15 üye
Naum Shooters
Naum Shooters

Mystery Of The Burnt Cottage



This is the first of Enid Blyton's thrilling 'Mystery' books. It is the story of five children and their dog Buster. They become detectives, trying to discover who set fire to a thatched cottage, and what an exciting adventure it became!Brief Summary by Julie Heginbotham: One April night, the sky of Peterswood is lit up by the brightness of a cottage on fire. Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Bets, Pip, and Buster the dog, set about trying to solve this exciting mystery of who burnt down Mr Hicks' cottage workshop in his garden. They make lists of suspects they want to interview and try and find as many clues as they can, whilst trying to avoid the wrath of the village policeman, Mr Goon, who the children nickname 'old Clear Orf.' Will they manage to solve the Mystery of the Burnt Cottage before Mr Goon does? [Suggest a different description.] Please enter a suggested description. Limit the size to 1000 characters. However, note that many search engines truncate at a much shorter size, about 160 characters. Your suggestion will be processed as soon as possible. Description: Downloads:13,630Pages:117 Author Bio for Blyton, Enid




Mystery Of The Burnt Cottage



The children realise that as Mr Hick claims to have been in the London train when the cottage was burnt, but by his own report he saw the planes which flew over the village at the same time, he is contradicting himself. Fatty finds out that the cottage and the burnt papers Mr Hick describes as 'most important' were insured. The children deduce that Mr Hick burnt his own cottage for the insurance money. The book also introduces Inspector Jenks, who turns out to help the children and becomes a good friend of theirs.


Every week, you or your chosen gift recipient will receive a real actual letter in the post that contains clues to help you solve a monthly mystery set in the Victorian period. At the end of the month, Sherlock Holmes himself will write to you and reveal his solution to the puzzle, so your challenge is to beat him to it.


How you choose to investigate is entirely up to you. You can make it a group effort, perhaps involving friends and family in thrashing out the details of the case, or you can unravel the mystery all by yourself. What could be more perfect for the Shedunnit listener in search of a whodunnit-based distraction?


Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pep, Bets and Buster the dog turn detectives when a mysterious fire destroys a thatched cottage in Mr Hick's garden in their village. Calling themselves the 'Five Find-Outers and Dog' they set out to solve the mystery and discover the culprit. The final solution, however, surprises the Five Find-Outers almost as much as it surprises Mr Goon the village policeman. 127 pages. Cover edges rubbed. Quantity Available: 1. Shipped Weight: Under 500 grams. Category: Children's::Children's Fiction; Children; Rare & Collectible. Inventory No: 260909. Paperback


So they head outside and meet Pip and Bets Hilton, who have also snuck out. Together they race down the lane to find Mr Hick's cottage burning. There, in the garden along with other onlookers, they meet Frederick Algernon Trotteville, a plump boy with a small black Scottish Terrier named Buster. Later the others pick up the initials of Frederick's name, F.A.T., and henceforth call him Fatty. Introduced in the first chapter is Mr Goon, the local policeman, who is not described much but whose first words are, "Clear orf, you!"


We're introduced to a number of characters throughout the story as the children set about solving the mystery of the burnt cottage; who started the fire, and why? Mr Hick's staff includes Mrs Minns the cook, Lily the young maid, Horace Peeks the man-servant, and Thomas the chauffeur. (How the other half live, eh?) Then there's Mr Hick's colleague Mr Smellie, a doddery old man interested only in old parchments. His housekeeper is Miss Miggle. There's also a tramp and, towards the end, we meet Inspector Jenks, a much nicer man than that horrid stick-in-the-mud Mr Goon! All the characters are pretty colorful and their dialogue nicely conveys their personalities.


Being the first adventure where the children meet Fatty, this book is one of my favourites. This is despite the character of Fatty not yet being very well developed, and the rest of the Find-Outers don't hold him with much esteem at this point (except of course Bets who hero-worshipped him from the beginning). This is the only adventure where Larry and Pip hold more of a leadership role before they are eclipsed by Fatty's obvious abilities and his self-proclaimed "brains" in the later books. As in all the books, it is of course Fatty who notices the clue at the end and wraps up the mystery nicely. Larry does assert his authority occasionally and "squash" Fatty a little, which is not necessarily a bad thing.


I also like the way Inspector (later Chief-Inspector and Superintendent) Jenks is discovered doing a leisure activity rather than in a role as a lawman. Mr Goon makes his appearance right at the beginning, but manages to hold on to his stead as a serious policeman early on before being branded a buffoon. This is one of the mysteries where he shines a little more, tracking down the same suspects as the children and following them only a little later. However, he isn't able to spot the final clue and so is unable to solve the mystery.


This is one of those mysteries that is impossible to completely solve before the final clue is revealed, although I had an inkling of whodunnit in my first reading because a person's basic character in all of Enid Blyton's mysteries always has a bearing on what part they play. A character with bad morals or behaviour is almost always the culprit, or one of the bad guys. The best thing of all about this book is it begins a wonderful mystery series with lovable characters that I will probably never get tired of reading about.


Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pep, Bets and Buster the dog turn detectives when a mysterious fire destroys a thatched cottage in Mr. Hick's garden in their village. Calling themselves the "Five Find-Outers and Dog" they set out to solve the mystery and discover the culprit. The final solution, however, surprises the Five Find-Outers almost as much as it surprises Mr. Goon, the village policeman.


The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage is the first investigation for the Five Find-Outers and Dog, one of Enid Blyton's less-well-known teams of child detectives despite their fifteen adventures. This series was always my favourite in a childhood full of mystery series, and I've certainly enjoyed re-reading this story as an adult.


When Mr Hick's work cottage burns down, a group of local children, and a visiting child and dog, take on the challenge of finding out who did it, despite the protestations of the local police officer.


As with many of Blyton's works, the boys get most of the adventure, with the girls relegated to stroking cats and walking dogs, though they do their fair share of clue finding. The plot surprised me with its strength - the quality of clues and suspects matching many adult crime writers and providing just enough for the reader to work things out with the characters - I have no doubt this series is what impressed a love of mystery stories on me as a child.


The cottage in Mr Hick's garden mysteriously burns down one night, and five children think someone started the fire deliberately. Mr Goon, the local policeman, thinks so too, and isn't at all pleased to have the Five Find-Outers and Dog nosing in on his mystery...


A brilliant mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Someone has set fire to Mr Hick's cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it's not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to clear orf . The Find-Outers are determined - they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does! First published in 1943, this edition is unillustrated.


Someone has set fire to Mr Hick's cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it's not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to 'clear orf'. The Find-Outers are determined - they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does!


A brilliant mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Someone has set fire to Mr Hick's cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it's not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to "clear orf". The Find-Outers are determined - they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does! First published in 1943, this edition is unillustrated. 041b061a72


Hakkında

Gruba hoş geldiniz! Diğer üyelerle bağlantı kurabilir, günce...

Üye

bottom of page